Skip to content

Plano ISD Teacher Named Finalist For Outstanding Science Educators

Stephanie Tann is a teacher at Davis Elementary

Plano ISD teacher, Stephanie Tann, was recently named one of six finalists for the Outstanding Science Educators in the state of Texas award.  

Disclosure: Tann is a photographer for Local Profile. 

The SPARK Award, presented by alliantgroup, annually rewards science teachers who are increasing student engagement and achievement through innovative lesson plans that emphasize both the importance and fun aspects of science.

“I want my students to ask questions, be brave, make mistakes and ultimately grow the confidence to be whoever they want to become- engineers, architects, scientists, artists and leaders,” Tann, who is a teacher at Davis Elementary told Local Profile. 

Growing up, Tann loved school and her educators but wasn’t called to the teaching profession until later in life. After becoming a mom, Tann found her love for education through her children. But science is another love for Tann. She explained that the subject allowed her to express unlimited creativity and share it with her students. 

“It's hard to put into words what this honor means to me,” Tann said. “I go to the classroom every day for one reason; my students. If I can show them a little piece of how amazing this world can be, teach them how to understand and interact with and within it, and encourage them to think, engineer, study and even protect it in the future, then I have done right by them.”  

The overall winner of the SPARK Award will receive a $3,500 personal award, plus $500 toward their classroom. The other five finalists will receive a $1,300 personal award, and $500 toward their classroom. 

“What this award means to me is more than just a personal accomplishment or accolade — it means that I have been successful where it matters the most, with the kids, the education of these amazing students, scholars and leaders of the years to come,” Tann said. “And I am extraordinarily proud to have been a part of their journey.”

The finalist of the SPARK Award will be presented on June 19, 2024. 

Visit the link here to vote for one of the six educators to receive additional classroom funds. 

Don't miss anything Local. Sign up for our free newsletter.