Skip to content

What To Know About 2024 Collin County Elections

Early voting for the Primary Election begins Feb. 20, 2024
Photo: WESTOCK PRODUCTIONS | Shutterstock

This year will be a big one for elections across the country — but don’t forget about your local elections. Collin County residents can begin preparing for the March 5 primaries and May 4 general election. 

Here’s everything Collin County voters need to know before election day:

How To Register

Registration is closed for the Primary Election, but residents have until April 4, 2024, to register for the General Election. 

Updates within the county can be conveniently managed through Texas Online. Voters who have relocated within the same county can securely update their address or make name/residence address changes at if they are active or in suspense.

Alternatively, voters with access to a printer can utilize the Secretary of State informal online application to generate a printable voter registration application. Upon selecting their county of residence, the form will automatically include the county voter registrar’s address for mailing.

For those without access to a printer, requesting a postage-paid voter registration application is an option. This can be done by filling out a request form on the SOS website, or counties may also mail blank applications upon request.

If a voter possesses their current voter registration certificate, they can directly make any necessary corrections or updates, sign it, and return it to the voter registrar.

Another resource available is, a third-party website offering a remote printing option. After completing an online form, voters receive a pre-filled application for review, signature, and mailing in the postage-paid envelope provided, directly to the county voter registrar.

Primary Election

When: March 5, 2024
Where: Early Voting | Election Day Voting  
Ballot: Democratic | Republican

The primary election on March 5, 2024, allows voters to choose the candidate they believe is most suitable for the Nov. 5 general election ballot. Those interested in applying for a mail-in ballot can do so until Feb. 23. Early voting begins on February 20 and extends through March 1.

This year, candidates are running for U.S. House of Representatives in districts 3, 4 and 32.

On the Republican side in District 3, ballot challengers to incumbent Rep. Keith Self, include Suzanne Harp, Tre Pennie, Jeremy D. Ivanovskis and John Porro. In District 4, Republican Pat Fallon is challenged by Don Horn. 

The Democratic ballot features candidates for District 32 including Callie Butcher, Jan McDowell, Raja Chaudhry, Christopher Panayiotou, Julie Johnson, Brian Williams, Kevin Felder, Zachariah Manning, Justin A. Moore and Alex Cornwallis.

On the Republican ballot, Sherwood Holmes is challenging Sheriff Jim Skinner for the Collin County Sheriff position.

Seven contested races will also take place for state representative positions.

In District 33, candidates Katrina Pierson and Dennis London are challenging incumbent Justin Holland. District 61 sees three runners for the position, including Keresa Richardson, incumbent Frederick Frazier and Chuck Branch. 

District 66 includes Wayne Richard and incumbent Matt Shaheen. Four candidates, comprising two Republicans, Daren Meis and incumbent Jeff Leach, and two Democrats, Jefferson Nunn and Makala L. Washington in District 67.

District 70's ballot features Republican candidates Steve Kinard and Joe Collins, while Abraham George is challenging the incumbent Candy Noble for District 89.

General Election

When: May 4, 2024
Where: Coming soon
Ballot: Coming soon

The deadline to register to vote in the May 4 general election is April 4, while the final day to request a mail-in ballot is April 23.

This year six Collin County cities will have open positions for city council. 

For Frisco City Council, expiring terms include Place 1, held by Mayor Pro Tem John Keating, and Place 3, held by Angelia Pelham.

In Celina, upcoming vacancies include Place 2, currently held by Mayor Pro Tem Jay Pierce, and Place 3, held by Andy Hopkins.

For Allen City Council, the terms for Place No. 1, currently held by Mary Vail-Grube; Place No. 3, held by Dave Cornette; and Place No. 5, held by Dave Shafer, are up for election.

In Prosper, terms are expiring for Place 2, held by Mayor Pro Tem Craig Andres, and Place 6, held by Charles Cotten.

Princeton City Council will see the expiration of Mayor Brianna Chacon’s term, along with Place 1, held by David Kleiber and Place 2, held by Marlo Obera.

This article was originally published on Feb. 5, 2024.